Euzhan Palcy recalls meeting with Joseph Zobel

Repeating Islands

unnamed

A post by Peter Jordens.

At the Paris Book Fair 2014, which was held from March 21 to 24, the French Ministry for the Overseas Departments organized a series of meetings, debates, book signings and readings under the joint banner of ‘The Overseas Departments – Near or Far.’ On the 22nd, the ‘Imaged Words’ Roundtable allowed Euzhan Palcy, director of the film Rue Cases-Nègres [Sugar Cane Alley] (1983), to passionately recall meeting with Joseph Zobel, the author of the novel La Rue Cases-Nègres (1950) [on which her film is based].

“My mother made ​​me read the book to calm me down. I loved it and it has not left me alone since. I always seem to rediscover [in it] the environment that was mine” – this is how Euzhan Palcy (1958) explains her encounter with the work of Joseph Zobel that has forever marked her life. Accompanied…

View original post 581 mots de plus

