Photographic Exhibition: “ »Go Fuck Your Selfie . . .”

Repeating Islands

selfie-640x363

So sad not to have been there. Adál* Maldonado’s “Go Fuck Your Selfie / I was a Schizophrenic Mambo Dancer for the FBI” had its official opening on October 2, 2014, at Roberto Paradise Gallery [Galería Roberto Paradise], located at 1204 Ponce de León Avenue in Santurce (San Juan, Puerto Rico) just one block from the Puerto Rico Museum of Contemporary Art (aka, el MAC). This exhibition will be on view until November 29, 2014.

As Mariana Reyes Angleró writes, “Adál Maldonado has been working on portraits and self-portraiture for many years. She quotes Maldonado: “My work from the 70s, in one way or another, always has to do with the concept of ​​identity. [The idea] that one’s identity is always flowing and one keeps changing. One projects an identity. For me there is no permanent identity.”

“Recently I was preparing this exhibition and I realized that this…

View original post 195 mots de plus